• Libby house, 635 Mineral Street

    Note on back of photograph: “Libby house. R. C. Libby 635 Mineral St.”

    View Full Item  in Mineral Point Library Archives
  • Shake Rag Street - view to south.

    original "Tamblyn's Row" on right. Note on back of photograph: “Shake Rag Street (formerly Hoard) showing row house on right (apts).”

    View Full Item  in Mineral Point Library Archives
  • Davey/ Trevarrow House 310 Front St.

    The original house was built in 1851, with additions in 1859 and 1868. Thomas and Hannah Davey emigrated from Cornwall in 1837. Davey first assayed copper ore in MIneral Point, then worked as a store…

    View Full Item  in Mineral Point Library Archives
  • Restoration of Tamblyn's Row, 1962

    Rowhouse buildings on Spruce Street, during restoration by Bob Neal and Edgar Hellum. Buildings in the Pendarvis complex; part of the State Historical Society of Wisconsin Historic Site.

    View Full Item  in Mineral Point Library Archives
  • Slaughter Pen Hill, Mineral Point

    Slaughter Pen Hill, named for a slaughterhouse once located at the corner of Antoine Street and Shake Rag Street. The house in the photograph is on Antoine Street. A note on the back of the photograph…

    View Full Item  in Mineral Point Library Archives
  • Mayhew House, Front St., not extant

    Identified by a note on the back of the photograph as the Mayhew house. The 1871 Taylor & Willits map of Mineral Point notes J. V. Mayhew owned the west 1/2 of Harrison's lot 294, which is now part of…

    View Full Item  in Mineral Point Library Archives
  • South Iowa Street, View to North

    View up South Iowa Street; House at right not extant; site approximately 216 S. Iowa

    View Full Item  in Mineral Point Library Archives
  • Kislingbury Log House Antoine Street

    Note on back of photograph: “’My grandfather Kislingbury built this cabin for a home but did not live long enough to complete it’ Will Kislingbury”

    View Full Item  in Mineral Point Library Archives
  • Berg House, 320 Pine Street, not extant

    A note on the back of the photograph reads: “Berg house (Ed Davis) 320 Pine St.” The house was demolished in 1997. The 1917 telephone directory for Mineral Point lists E. J. Davis on Pine street; the…

    View Full Item  in Mineral Point Library Archives
  • Unidentified House

    Notes on the back of the photograph read: “Gale’s House, S.E. Corner of Maiden & S Iowa” and “View of My Studio”. The house in this photograph, however, does not correspond with other, identified, pho…

    View Full Item  in Mineral Point Library Archives
  • Old Log House on Shake Rag Street - Not Extant

    Not extant. Note on back of photograph: “Log house on Shakerag. Ingraham House at Left.”

    View Full Item  in Mineral Point Library Archives
  • William T. Henry house, S, Iowa St., 1869

    Wm T. Henry house, 307 S. Iowa Street; from a Gundry family photograph album. From “The History of Iowa County, 1881”: While acting as Secretary of the Mineral Point Railroad Company, he commenced an…

    View Full Item  in Mineral Point Library Archives
  • James Smith house, 111 Jail Alley

    The 1850 census notes that the building is a Boarding House and lists the members of the household as James Smith, 39, birthplace: Ireland; occupation: Tavern Keeper, value of real estate: $600; Ann,…

    View Full Item  in Mineral Point Library Archives
  • James Kinney House 117 Jail Alley

    James Kinney house, built 1847. James Kinney came from Ireland, probably in the mid 1840s. Kinney, his wife Katherine, and their two young sons lived here in 1850 along with several boarders, also fro…

    View Full Item  in Mineral Point Library Archives
  • James Toay House, 618 Maiden Street

    James Toay house built 1872. Note on back of photograph: “Sam Hocking (Toay) House Maiden St. Mr & Mrs Hocking. (later owned by L. K. Peterson); Tom & Darlene Duke. Frank & Sandee Beaman. Duke House B…

    View Full Item  in Mineral Point Library Archives
  • Restoration of Tamblyn's Row, 1962

    Rowhouse buildings on Spruce Street, during restoration by Bob Neal and Edgar Hellum. Buildings in the Pendarvis complex; part of the State Historical Society of Wisconsin Historic Site.

    View Full Item  in Mineral Point Library Archives
  • First movie theater in Mineral Point

    note on back of photograph: Mont Fitzsimmons; 1st Movie Theatre - High St (261 High St); Later Green Lantern

    View Full Item  in Mineral Point Library Archives
  • Bird’s eye view of the city

    Bird’s eye view of the city. The photograph was taken after 1892 as the UCC Church is visible at upper left, and before 1900 as the Presbyterian Church is visible in the upper center of the image.

    View Full Item  in Mineral Point Library Archives
  • Liza Crist House 825 Fountain St.

    A note on the back of the photograph reads: “Liza Crist house on W. Fountain St.” The 1900 census of Mineral Point lists Eliza S. Crist, dressmaker, age 43, living with her mother Sarah Crist, age 74…

    View Full Item  in Mineral Point Library Archives
  • Strollers on Shake Rag Street, Mineral Point

    A note on the back of the photograph reads:"50 Shake Rag Street. (Mrs Esch house on left) (later owned by Raduntz, then Wm Dyke (1980)"

    View Full Item  in Mineral Point Library Archives
123...15Next