• Louisa Capron Thiers - grave marker

    Dewey, C. E

    This grave can be found in Green Ridge Cemetery in the "old part" of the cemetery, which is the extreme north area of the cemetery, given by Charles Durkee to Southport. The bronze plate on the stone…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Allen Tannery exterior

    N. R. Allen Sons Company

    The N. R. Allen’s Sons plant in summer, looking northwest across Pike Creek from downtown Kenosha. The old Main Street (now Sixth Avenue) bridge can be seen on the right, and Peoples Cash Meat Market…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Library - side

    Thiers, Louis Milton, 1858-1950

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Library and Monument

    Thiers, Louis Milton, 1858-1950

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Allen Tannery exterior

    N. R. Allen Sons Company

    The N. R. Allen’s Sons Company plant in winter, looking northwest across Pike Creek from downtown Kenosha. A horse-drawn carriage and pedestrians are crossing the old Main Street (now Sixth Avenue) br…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Knapp monuments, Green Ridge Cemetery

    Buckmaster, Albert E

    The negative of these monuments was made by A. E. Buckmaster about 1895 and given to the Kenosha Historical Society by his son, Bruce Buckmaster, in 1938. These monuments were erected by Lewis Knapp a…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Clouds east from gallery roof

    Thiers, Louis Milton, 1858-1950

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Map of Southport, north side

    This map shows Southport north of Pike Creek.

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Kenosha City Park in summer

    This park was called in 1838 Public Square, in 1870 City Park, in 1880 Central Park, in 1900 Library Park.

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Lady Elgin catastrophe - monument inscription

    This inscription is from the monument shown by lantern slide number 224, dedicated to C. A. Mullel, a victim of the Lady Elgin catastrophe of September 8th, 1860. The monument is located in the Green…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • St. James Church from the high school smoke stack

    Beemer, C. Wilkins

    This picture is looking southeast from the smoke stack and you see the roof of St. James Church and school, Sheridan Road garage, home of I. O. O. F., Congregational Church, Simmons Library. The group…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Simmons employees in Labor Day parade

    Simmons Company

    Simmons Company employees in a Kenosha Labor Day parade. Circa early 1900s. Founded in 1870 by Zalmon G. Simmons, the Simmons Company did not initially make mattresses. Their first products were chees…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Tenth Avenue at 57th Street

    Hansen, J. E

    The residence and barn of the late George D. Head was torn down in November of 1933 to clear the site on Civic Center for the first government owned Post Office in Kenosha, which was built in 1908. Th…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Kenosha Park (Central Park)

    Thiers, Louis Milton, 1858-1950

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • The Nash bridge over railroad tracks

    Nash Motors Company

    A bridge over the Chicago and Northwestern Railroad tracks connects buildings of the Nash Motors plant. Circa mid-20th century. In 1916, Charles Nash opened Nash Motors Company, which became known for…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Unveiling Monument, Library Park

    Thiers, Louis Milton, 1858-1950

    Library Park, May 30th, 1900. This monument to Civil War veterans was a gift to the city of Kenosha by Zalmon G. Simmons and cost over twenty thousand dollars. It was unveiled on Decoration Day at the…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Old Catholic Cemetery - looking southwest

    Thiers, Louis Milton, 1858-1950

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • From the tannery chimney looking west

    Thiers, Louis Milton, 1858-1950

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Central (Kenosha City) Park

    Thiers, Louis Milton, 1858-1950

    This picture of the City Park was taken by L. M. Thiers on November 26, 1895. The view is looking southwest from near the intersection of Seventh Avenue and Sixth Avenue 'A' showing the band stand in…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • The Nash Employees’ Athletic Ball Park

    Nash Motors Company

    The Nash Employees’ Athletic Ball Park was part of a “recreational plant” which opened in 1923, consisting of a baseball stadium, clubhouse, tennis courts, and playgrounds for use by employees and the…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
123...11Next