• Allen Tannery exterior

    N. R. Allen Sons Company

    The N. R. Allen’s Sons plant in summer, looking northwest across Pike Creek from downtown Kenosha. The old Main Street (now Sixth Avenue) bridge can be seen on the right, and Peoples Cash Meat Market…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Allen Tannery exterior

    N. R. Allen Sons Company

    The N. R. Allen’s Sons Company plant in winter, looking northwest across Pike Creek from downtown Kenosha. A horse-drawn carriage and pedestrians are crossing the old Main Street (now Sixth Avenue) br…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Pike River mouth - June

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Pike River from Cemetery Hill

    Thiers, Louis Milton, 1858-1950

    This view of Pike River is its natural state. This photograph was taken by L. M. Thiers, in about 1900. This area is now part of Alford Park.

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Mince's Creek

    Thiers, Louis Milton, 1858-1950

    Mince's Creek was named after Conrad Muntzenberger, who owned and operated a brewery on the high ground at the left in the photo until the 1870s. The high land at the right is Washington Island, on wh…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • The steamer, "Athlete"

    The steamer, "Athlete," was brought to Wilmot about 1873. The steamer was a pleasure boat that could be chartered for all kinds of excursions including picnic parties, hunting and fishing, and sightse…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Allen Tannery exterior

    N. R. Allen Sons Company, Thiers, Louis M

    A ship in front of the N. R. Allen’s Sons Tannery, looking north across Pike Creek. Photograph by Louis M. Thiers. Circa 1900. Between 1856 and 1927, N. R. Allen Sons Company, Inc., founded by Nathan…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Allen Tannery exterior

    N. R. Allen Sons Company

    The Harness Leather Building of the N. R. Allen’s Sons Tannery from across the bridge over Pike Creek at Main Street (now Sixth Avenue). August 1916. Between 1856 and 1927, N. R. Allen Sons Company, I…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Carey Flour Mill, Wilmot

    The Carey Flour and Feed Mill was located on Fox River, Wilmot, Kenosha County, Wisconsin. On this site in 1884, Asabel W. Benham built the first flour and feed mill in Wilmot. The mill was equipped w…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Allen Tannery exterior

    N. R. Allen Sons Company

    The N. R. Allen’s Sons Tannery as it was in 1870, only a few years after being established, before growing into one of the largest tanneries in the country. At the time N. R. Allen’s Sons Tannery work…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Allen Tannery exterior

    N. R. Allen Sons Company

    Looking across Pike Creek at the N. R. Allen’s Sons Tannery. Circa 1891. Between 1856 and 1927, N. R. Allen Sons Company, Inc., founded by Nathan Allen and Levi Grant, produced leather products such a…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Allen Tannery exterior

    N. R. Allen Sons Company

    A drawing of a bird’s eye view looking west at the N. R. Allen’s Sons Company plant, Kenosha. Sheridan Road runs along the western edge of the plant, and Grand Avenue (now 52nd Street) cuts through th…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Wilmot Dam on the Fox River

    Dewey, C. E

    This is a photograph of the Wilmot Dam taken by C. E. Dewey on June 4, 1939.

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Mince's Creek - June

    Thiers, Louis Milton, 1858-1950

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Pike River sunset from Jacob's Hill

    Thiers, Louis Milton, 1858-1950

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Boathouses on Pike Creek

    Thiers, Louis Milton, 1858-1950

    This view of Pike Creek boathouses and boats was taken in 1884 by Louis M. Thiers. This scene looks in a southerly direction; Congress Street (Tenth Avenue) is the street running north and south on th…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Allen Tannery exterior

    N. R. Allen Sons Company

    A ship on Pike Creek, anchored in front of the N. R. Allen’s Sons plant. Circa 1891. Between 1856 and 1927, N. R. Allen Sons Company, Inc., founded by Nathan Allen and Levi Grant, produced leather pro…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Allen Tannery exterior

    N. R. Allen Sons Company

    The N. R. Allen’s Sons Tannery as it was in 1870, only a few years after being established, before growing into one of the largest tanneries in the country. At the time N. R. Allen’s Sons Tannery were…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Pike River from Jacob's Hill - June

    Thiers, Louis Milton, 1858-1950

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • River or harbor

    Thiers, Louis Milton, 1858-1950

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
12Next