• History of Wood County, Wisconsin

    Jones, George O.; McVean, Norman S

    Topics covered in Jones and McVean's 1923 history of Wood County, Wisconsin, include geology and topography, Indians and early explorations, the fur trade, early settlement, politics and government, a…

    View Full Item  in Wisconsin Historical Society
  • Grand Rapids Foundry

    Postcard Collection, West Side. The Grand Rapids Foundry was located near the current day intersection of High Street and West Riverview Expressway.

    View Full Item  in South Wood County Historical Museum
  • The Home of Roenius Wood and Coal Chutes (in Wisconsin)

    Postcard Collection, West Side. The Grand Rapids Foundry was located near the current day intersection of High Street and West Riverview Expressway.

    View Full Item  in South Wood County Historical Museum
  • Third Street, Grand Rapids

    Postcard Collection, Houses. From left to right: Lawrence E. Nash residence and the Isaac P. Witter residence. The Witter residence is now the home of the South Wood County Historical Museum.

    View Full Item  in South Wood County Historical Museum
  • Fifth Street, Grand Rapids, WI

    Postcard Collection, Houses. Standing on the corner of Oak and Fifth Street South looking south. In the middle is the 1903 Lincoln High School. The water tower was located near the intersection of Lin…

    View Full Item  in South Wood County Historical Museum
  • Alexander Memorial Park

    Port Edwards Postcard Collection. Alexander Memorial Park with Nepco offices in back.

    View Full Item  in South Wood County Historical Museum
  • West Side 1906

    Unknown

    Collection of ink blotters collected by Tom Taylor; West Side as it looked from Bridge South before parking, 1906

    View Full Item  in South Wood County Historical Museum
  • Greetings From Grand Rapids

    Postcard Collection, Greetings. Greetings from Grand Rapids, WI.

    View Full Item  in South Wood County Historical Museum
  • Port Edwards postcard

    Port Edwards Postcard Collection.

    View Full Item  in South Wood County Historical Museum
  • St John's Episcopal Church

    Unknown

    Collection of ink blotters collected by Tom Taylor; St. John's Episcopal Church; Built in 1929, dedicated January 19 1930, East Grand Ave. and Third St.

    View Full Item  in South Wood County Historical Museum
  • First Bridge in WR 1866

    Unknown

    Collection of ink blotters collected by Tom Taylor; First bridge at Wisconsin Rapids built in 1866; toll was charged; county made it a free bridge by purchase in 1873

    View Full Item  in South Wood County Historical Museum
  • Office Building, Nekoosa Edwards Paper Company

    Colby, J.M.

    Port Edwards Postcard Collection. Port Edwards mill office building about 1907 when the saw mill became part of the Nekoosa Edward Paper Company. A company store was originally located in the right ap…

    View Full Item  in South Wood County Historical Museum
  • Edgewater Haven Nursing Home

    Port Edwards Postcard Collection. Edgewater Haven Nursing Home was originally built as a home for the aged and destitute. It replaced a 'poorfarm' located on Seneca Road. The building shown was built…

    View Full Item  in South Wood County Historical Museum
  • Public Buildings of Grand Rapids

    Postcard Collection, East Side. This image of the Public Buildings of Grand Rapids, Wis. was taked from the river looking eastwards. The Wood County Jail, Public Library and Court House were all locat…

    View Full Item  in South Wood County Historical Museum
  • Flood of 1880 East Side

    Fontaine, A. L

    Collection of ink blotters collected by Tom Taylor; Flood of 1880 East Side; Looking north from intersection of Oak and First Streets (Witter House direction); J. A Gaynor is in foreground; Four one-s…

    View Full Item  in South Wood County Historical Museum
  • Junior High School and Auditorium

    Port Edwards Postcard Collection. 1989 Port Edwards School with several additions added to it. Picture taken prior to 1932 when present John Edwards High School was built on same proerty.

    View Full Item  in South Wood County Historical Museum
  • The New Sulfite Mill, Port Edwards

    Port Edwards Postcard Collection. The Port Edwards Fiber Company built this pulp mill in 1905. The acid producing plant is on the right. The tall building is the digester room where three digesters co…

    View Full Item  in South Wood County Historical Museum
  • First Street North

    Postcard Collection, East Side. Looking north on First Street North are the Arpin houses on the right. The white house with pillars was the home of Daniel Arpin. The next house was the home of Daniel'…

    View Full Item  in South Wood County Historical Museum
  • The White City Band

    Colby, J.M.

    Port Edwards Postcard Collection. The White City Band of Port Edwards. It was named the White City Band since Port Edwards was nicknamed "White City," since almost all of the structures were painted w…

    View Full Item  in South Wood County Historical Museum
  • Port Edwards Mercantile

    Port Edwards Postcard Collection. Port Edwards Mercantile general store, located on the corner of Second Street and Market Avenue. The photo was taken prior to the addition of gasoline pumps, dating i…

    View Full Item  in South Wood County Historical Museum
123...7Next