• The Dunnebacke Company

    Dewey, C. E

    This picture was taken to show the change and growth of Market (56th) Street and the C. and N.W.R.R. since about 1870. Notice the passenger train moving on the elevation. The Dunnebacke Company are de…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Howland Avenue and Elizabeth Street

    Newell, R. S

    The Plous Brothers Block was built in 1916 by Louis and Morris Plous, proprietors of the Union Dye Works. This photograph of the corner of Howland Avenue (22nd Avenue) and Elizabeth Street (63rd Stree…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Park Avenue between South Street and Park Place

    Thiers, Louis Milton, 1858-1950

    The date of this picture is about 1890. The view is looking south into Central Park (Library Park). The brick house is the home of I. J. Clapp. This house at one time, in the 1870s, was the home of Al…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • 818 Prairie Avenue - west end

    Thiers, Louis Milton, 1858-1950

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Scott Avenue

    Thiers, Louis Milton, 1858-1950

    Photograph by L. M. Thiers, taken in 1896. Scott Avenue became 17th Avenue. This photo was taken looking south from 75th Street.

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • 22nd Avenue (Howland) after widening

    Dewey, C. E

    This view is looking north from Roosevelt Road at about the same point as in slide number 285, but this was taken after the widening.

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Allen Tannery exterior

    N. R. Allen Sons Company

    The N. R. Allen’s Sons Tannery as it was in 1870, only a few years after being established, before growing into one of the largest tanneries in the country. At the time N. R. Allen’s Sons Tannery were…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Market Street west from Sheridan Road

    Thiers, Louis Milton, 1858-1950

    This view is looking west from Sheridan Road. This is before Market (56th) Street was paved. The houses at the left were the homes of Dr. Gillespie and W. P. Robinson. At the right, the house with the…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Allen Tannery - Crooked Alley - Peoples Cash Meat Market

    Thiers, Louis Milton, 1858-1950

    This photograph was taken from the north end of Main Street just before crossing Pike Creek on Main Street bridge, looking in a northwesterly direction toward Allen Tannery. The street immediately in…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • 56th Street and Seventh Avenue - food market

    Dewey, C. E

    This picture illustrates the changes made to the area around the northwest corner of 56th Street and Seventh Avenue once Seventh Avenue was widened. In 1926, when the streets of Kenosha were renamed,…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Sheridan Road and 56th Street

    This is as the corner appeared in 1922 before clearing the site for the new court house which was completed in 1925. At the far right is the old Coliseum building, which was used for a skating rink, p…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Park Avenue paving

    Thiers, Louis Milton, 1858-1950

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Kenosha's Grand Avenue West

    A view of Kenosha's Grand Avenue West in 1870. The large building at the left with a "lean-to" on each side is one of the first buildings of N. R. Allen Sons Tannery. Note the board walks, wooden brid…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Park Avenue looking south

    Thiers, Louis Milton, 1858-1950

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Chicago Street south - snow - January

    Thiers, Louis Milton, 1858-1950

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Northeast corner of 58th Street and Eighth Avenue

    Dewey, C. E

    On the northeast corner of 58th Street and Eighth Avenue, a one story brick building, which was built by the W. H. Alford estate, replaced the old frame building that was the first Catholic Church in…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Durkee Avenue at Deming Street

    Thiers, Louis Milton, 1858-1950

    Durkee Avenue became Third Avenue and Deming Street became 61st Street. The tall smoking chimney in the distance is the Simmons Company. The vacant ground at the right is Eichelman Park which was know…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Library from Avenue

    Thiers, Louis Milton, 1858-1950

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Park and Chicago Streets

    Newell, R. S

    The view here is from an upper floor of the Elks Club looking north. In the right center of the photograph is the red brick Court House (number two). In the distance and to the right is the Kenosha Co…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Cooper Underwear factory exterior

    Cooper Underwear Company

    The exterior of the Cooper Underwear Company factory at the corner of what is now 60th Street and 24th Avenue. Circa 1930.

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
1235Next