• The Nash bridge over railroad tracks

    Nash Motors Company

    A bridge over the Chicago and Northwestern Railroad tracks connects buildings of the Nash Motors plant. Circa mid-20th century. In 1916, Charles Nash opened Nash Motors Company, which became known for…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Main Street - north end - Old Main Street bridge

    Truesdell, S. W

    This photograph was taken from a high point on the Bain Wagon Company property facing north up Main Street, showing the bend in the street to the left to meet Milwaukee Avenue. The lawn of the Pennoye…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Jacob's Island bridge

    Pedley, Elmer

    This bridge over Pike River to Jacob's Island was built by Peter Jacobs about 1890 for the purpose of hauling sand and gravel from Lake Michigan. When this property became a part of the City of Kenosh…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Main Street bridge (Sixth Avenue)

    Newell, R. S

    This view and the one shown by lantern slide number 125 were taken at the same time and the same description applies to this image. Photo taken on the north side of the river, looking south. Preparato…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Main Street bridge - view looking west

    Thiers, Louis Milton, 1858-1950

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Daughters of the American Revolution tablet Sixth Street bridge

    The bronze tablet was placed on the tower of Sixth Avenue bridge on December 12, 1923, by the Daughters of the American Revolution. The tablet reads: Southport 1835 - Kenosha 1925, Daughters of the Am…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Allen Tannery exterior

    N. R. Allen Sons Company

    The N. R. Allen’s Sons Tannery as it was in 1870, only a few years after being established, before growing into one of the largest tanneries in the country. At the time N. R. Allen’s Sons Tannery were…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Lincoln Park Memorial Bridge

    Dewey, C. E

    The Lincoln Memorial Bridge, spanning the lagoon in Lincoln Park, was formally dedicated on May 31, 1937, to the memory of Abraham Lincoln. This bridge replaced the wooden foot bridge. This bridge was…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Harbor west of the bridge

    Thiers, Louis Milton, 1858-1950

    This is the view from a point west of the Main Street (6th Avenue) bridge looking east. The bridge was built in 1879. The Kenosha flouring mill, owned by R. Simmons, is the large white building in the…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Kenosha harbor

    Looking north from the south approach of Main Street (Sixth Avenue) bridge. N. R. Tannery office building (left), Hotel Schlitz (center), Peter Fisher, Jr., coal yard. Center or swing part of this bri…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • German Lutheran Church and Washington Island

    This picture was taken from the top of one of the tall chimneys of the Allen Tannery sometime in the late 1880s. The German Lutheran Church may be seen in the lower left hand corner of the picture. A…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Allen Tannery exterior

    N. R. Allen Sons Company

    The Harness Leather Building of the N. R. Allen’s Sons Tannery from across the bridge over Pike Creek at Main Street (now Sixth Avenue). August 1916. Between 1856 and 1927, N. R. Allen Sons Company, I…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Allen Tannery exterior

    N. R. Allen Sons Company

    The N. R. Allen’s Sons Tannery as it was in 1870, only a few years after being established, before growing into one of the largest tanneries in the country. At the time N. R. Allen’s Sons Tannery work…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • North side of Kenosha

    Thiers, Louis Milton, 1858-1950

    This view is from the top of N. R. Allen and Sons Tannery chimney and is looking northeast. Note the location of the bridge to Washington Island (Simmons Island) over a part of the harbor known as "Mi…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Harbor from north pier

    Thiers, Louis Milton, 1858-1950

    This view is looking west from the inner end of the north pier, Main Street (6th Avenue) bridge.

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Moving of the Main Street bridge

    Newell, R. S

    Photo taken on the north side of the river, looking south. Preparatory to the moving, in 1920, of the Main Street steel bridge, the swinging unit was floated by scows to form a part of the improved Mi…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Sixth Avenue from 56th Street

    Dewey, C. E

    The west side of Sixth Avenue looking north from 56th Street on Sunday morning, June 14, 1942. A part of the approach to the Sixth Avenue bridge over a part of the harbor (Pike Creek) can be seen in t…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections