• High Street - 204 and 206 - Samuel Coad Block

    The stone Samuel Coad block was constructed in 1864. This image was taken after 1898 and before 1906; Dr. Hubenthal had his dental office in the upper rooms and Hanscom's book store occupied Number 20…

    View Full Item  in Mineral Point Historical Society
  • High Street - 245 - Herman Frick building

    This building is related to the one adjacent, at 243 High Street. The structure replaced buildings that were demolished by a fire in 1860. 245 and 243 High Street housed the Kinne and Spratler Grocery…

    View Full Item  in Mineral Point Historical Society
  • High Street - 234 - Mauger Jewelry Store

    The William J. Mauger jewelry store on High Street, with the Misses Dunn dressmaking establishment on the second floor.

    View Full Item  in Mineral Point Historical Society
  • High Street - 229 - Otis/ Hendra Building

    The tin front with starburst design was added to this building in 1892, by Charles Hendra. The underlying building has been on the site since 1868. Mineral Point Weekly Tribune, Oct. 19, 1860: "New Bo…

    View Full Item  in Mineral Point Historical Society
  • High Street - 31 - M.E. Ryan Restaurant in the Feder Building

    The M.E. Ryan "resturant" and grocery was at 31 High Street in 1893. In the window behind the young man wearing the wide brimmed hat is a placard advertising the Mineral Point Band Picnic on Tuesday,…

    View Full Item  in Mineral Point Historical Society
  • High Street - 204 - Coad's Block

    Mineral Point Tribune, Nov. 9,1864: Nearly Finished. Coad's new rock building on the corner of High and Chestnut streets is getting along towards completion very fast, and will soon be ready for occup…

    View Full Item  in Mineral Point Historical Society
  • High Street - 213 - Grange & Paynter Hardware

    This stone building on High Street was built in 1859 by Samuel White. At the time of this photograph, it housed the Grange and Paynter hardware store.This building is included in the Wisconsin Archite…

    View Full Item  in Mineral Point Historical Society
  • High Street - 124 - Vivian's Pharmacy

    Built in 1842, by Theodore Rodolf and used by him as a dry goods store and a pharmacy. Dr. John Vivan moved into the space when Rodolf relocated to La Crosse in 1853. Vivan purchased the building a fe…

    View Full Item  in Mineral Point Historical Society
  • High Street - 43 and 39

    This stone building is on the north side of the first block of High Street at the site now occupied by the Hotel Royal. Built in 1859 and known as the "John Ross Building", it housed the William T. He…

    View Full Item  in Mineral Point Historical Society
  • High Street - 38 - J. Dawe Building

    Stone on the first floor and brick on the second, this building was constructed in 1866 and was originally used as a grocery store by William Uren and a feed store by John Dawe, miller. Later, Dawe we…

    View Full Item  in Mineral Point Historical Society
  • High Street - 200 block

    "Coad's Block" on the southwest corner of High Street and Chestnut street was built in 1864 by Samuel Coad. This photograph was taken after 1891, when J. Dresen established his tailoring business in a…

    View Full Item  in Mineral Point Historical Society
  • High Street - 154 - Mineral Point Bakery

    From an ad in the Mineral Point Tribune, September, 1866: "City Bakery, Miller & Gray. Wholesale and Retail Dealers in Nuts, Fruits, Toys, Candies, Cigars, and Crackers, Bread, Pies, Rusks & Cakes Con…

    View Full Item  in Mineral Point Historical Society
  • High Street - 43 - Royal Hotel

    On Easter Sunday, 1901,a special excursion train from Chicago, Beloit, and Janesville marked the grand opening of the Royal Hotel. Built of red brick shipped in by rail, the hotel’s design was conside…

    View Full Item  in Mineral Point Historical Society
  • High Street - 200 block - north side

    This image of High Street in Mineral Point merges both sides of a stereoscope view. It was taken after 1892, the year the metal front was added to the Hendra building, in the middle of the block. The…

    View Full Item  in Mineral Point Historical Society
  • High Street - 38 - Dawe/ Winn Building

    Constructed in 1868, this commercial building was home to a barber shop at one point, in addition to several other businesses.This building is included in the Wisconsin Architecture and History Invent…

    View Full Item  in Mineral Point Historical Society
  • High Street - 52 - Mrs. Curry building

    Mineral Point Democrat, Nov. 5, 1856, Mineral Point – The depot buildings, __ in number, are already completed. Curry's new building is being put up as fast as possible – has now reached the third sto…

    View Full Item  in Mineral Point Historical Society
  • High Street - 218 - Charles Springer Cigar Factory

    Charles Springer's Cigar and Tobacco Store occupied this space in the late 1890's and early 1900's. The building was constructed in 1866 by Richard Penhallegan. In this photograph, a placard in the wi…

    View Full Item  in Mineral Point Historical Society
  • High Street - 100 Block - Brewer and Penhallegon Store

    The original store of Brewer & Penhallegon, a grocery and dry goods firm specializing in dairy products, in business from 1881 to about 1906. This building was lost in the fire that destroyed much of…

    View Full Item  in Mineral Point Historical Society
  • High Street - 43 - Girman's Meat Market

    This stone building was demolished when the Royal Inn was built on this site. It was built by John Ross, in 1859, and housed the William Henry and Francis Henry Iowa County Abstract Office and Whittle…

    View Full Item  in Mineral Point Historical Society
  • High Street - 210 - Prideaux Drug Store

    Constructed in 1860, this stone building was the office and drug store of Dr. James B. Moffett. Dr. Moffett's brother, "Professor" C. R. Moffett had his photography studio upstairs and was a partner i…

    View Full Item  in Mineral Point Historical Society
1234Next