• Kent Block, 1982

    Gruver, Lowell "Bud"

    1982 photo of the Kent Block built in 1895 at the corner of Main and Court Streets includes Jan's Beauty Salon, 52 South Main: Jan sold her shop to Marilyn. Marilyn's Wavemakers Salon continues to ope…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Post Office

    Postcards of the United States Post Office in Janesville. The current post office (as of 2005) is on Milton Avenue. This building depicted in these postcards housed the Arrowhead Library System headqu…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Tallman House and Museum

    Color postcard of the exterior of the Tallman House and Museum when it had pink and red trim. Abraham Lincoln slept at this house in October 1859. In 2005, it is a house museum run by the Rock County…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Main and Milwaukee: a guide to Janesville's downtown historic districts

    Zellie, Carole

    Guidebook for a Janesville walking tour. Historic and architectural descriptions of residences and businesses are provided. Written and designed by Carole Zellie of Landscape Research, St. Paul, Minne…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Cobblestone house, Janesville

    Gruver, Lowell "Bud"

    Photo of what Lowell Gruver termed the "last cobblestone house in Janesville in use" in 1981 on Highway 51 South.

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Carrie Jacob Bond's birthplace

    A color postcard of the birthplace of Janesville composer Carrie Jacobs Bond.

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Claremont S. Jackson home in Janesville

    This turn of the twentieth century house was built for Claremont S. Jackson at 69 South Atwood Avenue in Janesville.

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Lappin-Hayes Block, 1980s

    Gruver, Lowell "Bud"

    This photo of the Hayes Block from the early 1980s includes the Dewey and Brandt Silverware and China store (16 East Milwaukee Street) and McLean's Jewelry (22 East Milwaukee Street). The Hayes Block…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Corn Exchange, 1950

    This photo of the Corn Exchange Block shows the veterans' monument, men sitting on park bench, traffic light, 1950s cars, Western Union, Evans jewelry store, "The ShadeShop," and a Westinghouse store.

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Helms Building, South Main Street

    Gruver, Lowell "Bud"

    The photo, showing the historic Helms Building at 29-31 South Main Street in Janesville, also shows the stores that occupied it around 1981: the Luggage and Leather Shop and the Junior House Company F…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Myers-Newhoff house

    Gruver, Lowell "Bud"

    1982 photo of the Myers-Newhoff house at 121 North Parker Drive. This building is reputed to be one of Janesville's oldest houses, built by Peter Myers around 1848 and used by Alan Dunwiddie of the Ja…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Corn Exchange fountain

    Photo of the Corn Exchange Square with its three-tiered fountain: The photo includes many people, horses and buggies, and a streetcar. The fountain was not extant in 2005.

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Rost Building

    Gruver, Lowell "Bud"

    1980s photo of the Rost building at 20 East Court Street. The Gossard Corset Factory occupied the Rost building around 1918. The two story section of the Rost Building was razed in 2000, leaving the l…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • The Prospect Hill and Conrad Cottages historic districts: a guide

    Zellie, Carole

    Guidebook for a walking tour in the Prospect Hill and Conrad Cottage area of Janesville. Historic and architectural descriptions of residences and businesses are provided. Written and designed by Caro…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • McVicar Brothers building

    Gruver, Lowell "Bud"

    This photo of McVicar Bros. Building, built in 1905 at 29-31 South Main Street, also shows a retail business occupying it around 1981: the Junior House Company Factory Outlet Store.

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Peters Block

    Gruver, Lowell "Bud"

    Photo of the Peters Block at 1913 East Milwaukee Street, next to the Frick Printing Company. HISTORIC JANESVILLE gives the address as 313-317 East Milwaukee and says its dates of construction were 184…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Lappin-Hayes Block, 1980s, close-up

    Gruver, Lowell "Bud"

    This close-up photo of the side of the Lappin-Hayes Block building shows an advertisement for Dewey and Brandt Jewelers, sellers of silverware, chinaware, diamonds, watches and clocks. The roadway und…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Main Street as seen from Milwaukee Street in the 1890s

    Late 1800s photo of Main Street from Milwaukee Street, including the Jackman Building and the Myers House. Horses and buggies, buildings with awnings, and unpaved streets are included in this photo.

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Parker Pen Building, 1978

    Gruver, Lowell "Bud"

    1978 photo of the 1920s Parker Pen building at East Court and Division Streets. Parker Pen manufactured fountain pens and related products, had an international reputation and sales force, and from 19…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Colvin Baking Company building

    Gruver, Lowell "Bud"

    Photo of the Colvin Baking Company building after it went out of business.

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
1234Next