• Allen Tannery exterior

    N. R. Allen Sons Company

    Looking east at the Kenosha harbor and Lake Michigan from the N. R. Allen’s Sons Tannery chimney. The Southport Lighthouse and the Simmons Company factory can be seen in the background. Circa 1897. Be…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Kenosha harbor

    Thiers, Louis Milton, 1858-1950

    At the left is the first United States Life Saving Station built in 1879. Just left of the center is the brick lighthouse and lightkeeper's residence built in 1866. Right of center is north pier. On t…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Kenosha Lighthouse and residence

    This slide was made from a small and not very distinct "blueprint" having the date of August 19, 1897, and was a gift from Mrs. Mary D. Bradford in 1939. The original snapshot was supposed to have bee…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • "Northeaster," north pier

    Thiers, Louis Milton, 1858-1950

    Picture taken before the building of the outer breakwater. The pier lighthouse is of the old type built of wood.

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Kenosha lighthouse and residence

    Bishop, E. A

    This view of Kenosha's lighthouse and residence is from sometime in the 1890s and was photographed by E. A. Bishop of Racine, Wisconsin. Mr. Bishop about this time began making picture post cards in a…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • L. N. DeDiemar

    Thiers, Louis Milton, 1858-1950

    Born in Canada in 1840, Mr. DeDiemar served as Kenosha's lighthouse keeper from June 26, 1872 through May 1, 1901. He and his wife, Mary E. DeDiemar, had four children: Louis E., Edward A., Mary E., a…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Pike Creek beacon light

    Dewey, C. E

    The drawings from which lantern slides 863 and 864 were made illustrate the description of the first beacon light of the village of Pike Creek as given by Colonel Michael Frank in 1856: "For the conve…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Lake, breakwater, lighthouses

    Thiers, Louis Milton, 1858-1950

    Photograph by L. M. Thiers, taken in 1885 to 1900.

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Kenosha harbor

    Thiers, Louis Milton, 1858-1950

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Lake Michigan breakwater

    Thiers, Louis Milton, 1858-1950

    This view of Lake Michigan is looking northeast from a point in or near Eichelman Park and near the home of O. M. Calkins. The tall chimney in the distant left is of the Simmons Company. The pier with…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Entrance to Kenosha Harbor in 1870

    The entrance to the Kenosha Harbor with a view of Washington Island and lighthouses.

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Pike Creek beacon light

    Dewey, C. E

    The drawings from which lantern slides 863 and 864 were made illustrate the description of the first beacon light of the village of Pike Creek as given by Colonel Michael Frank in 1856: "This contriva…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Kenosha harbor, looking north from Main Street bridge

    This picture was taken from the Main Street bridge looking north. A steamboat unloading fuel at the John O'Donnell coal yard can be seen. A three-masted sailboat is pictured unloading lumber. Washingt…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
  • Kenosha Water Works, harbor, lighthouse

    Dewey, C. E

    This view was taken from the switch yard of the Simmons Company. Looking northeast across the harbor entrance one can see the Water Works pumping plant built in 1917 and the numerous additions that ha…

    View Full Item  in University of Wisconsin Digital Collections