• High Street - 204 and 206 - Samuel Coad Block

    The stone Samuel Coad block was constructed in 1864. This image was taken after 1898 and before 1906; Dr. Hubenthal had his dental office in the upper rooms and Hanscom's book store occupied Number 20…

    View Full Item  in Mineral Point Historical Society
  • High Street - 234 - Mauger Jewelry Store

    The William J. Mauger jewelry store on High Street, with the Misses Dunn dressmaking establishment on the second floor.

    View Full Item  in Mineral Point Historical Society
  • High Street - 204 - Coad's Block

    Mineral Point Tribune, Nov. 9,1864: Nearly Finished. Coad's new rock building on the corner of High and Chestnut streets is getting along towards completion very fast, and will soon be ready for occup…

    View Full Item  in Mineral Point Historical Society
  • High Street - 43 and 39

    This stone building is on the north side of the first block of High Street at the site now occupied by the Hotel Royal. Built in 1859 and known as the "John Ross Building", it housed the William T. He…

    View Full Item  in Mineral Point Historical Society
  • High Street - 38 - J. Dawe Building

    Stone on the first floor and brick on the second, this building was constructed in 1866 and was originally used as a grocery store by William Uren and a feed store by John Dawe, miller. Later, Dawe we…

    View Full Item  in Mineral Point Historical Society
  • High Street - 200 block

    "Coad's Block" on the southwest corner of High Street and Chestnut street was built in 1864 by Samuel Coad. This photograph was taken after 1891, when J. Dresen established his tailoring business in a…

    View Full Item  in Mineral Point Historical Society
  • High Street - 154 - Mineral Point Bakery

    From an ad in the Mineral Point Tribune, September, 1866: "City Bakery, Miller & Gray. Wholesale and Retail Dealers in Nuts, Fruits, Toys, Candies, Cigars, and Crackers, Bread, Pies, Rusks & Cakes Con…

    View Full Item  in Mineral Point Historical Society
  • High Street - 38 - Dawe/ Winn Building

    Constructed in 1868, this commercial building was home to a barber shop at one point, in addition to several other businesses.This building is included in the Wisconsin Architecture and History Invent…

    View Full Item  in Mineral Point Historical Society
  • Madison Street - 326 - Simon Lanyon house

    This side gabled house was built about 1855.

    View Full Item  in Mineral Point Historical Society
  • Davis Street - 216 - St Mary's School under construction

    In 1870, a second Catholic church was established in Mineral Point when the German members of St Paul's formed St Mary's parish. They built a frame church and rectory in 1870 and a frame school buildi…

    View Full Item  in Mineral Point Historical Society
  • High Street - 52 - Mrs. Curry building

    Mineral Point Democrat, Nov. 5, 1856, Mineral Point – The depot buildings, __ in number, are already completed. Curry's new building is being put up as fast as possible – has now reached the third sto…

    View Full Item  in Mineral Point Historical Society
  • High Street - 218 - Charles Springer Cigar Factory

    Charles Springer's Cigar and Tobacco Store occupied this space in the late 1890's and early 1900's. The building was constructed in 1866 by Richard Penhallegan. In this photograph, a placard in the wi…

    View Full Item  in Mineral Point Historical Society
  • High Street - 43 - Girman's Meat Market

    This stone building was demolished when the Royal Inn was built on this site. It was built by John Ross, in 1859, and housed the William Henry and Francis Henry Iowa County Abstract Office and Whittle…

    View Full Item  in Mineral Point Historical Society
  • High Street - 210 - Prideaux Drug Store

    Constructed in 1860, this stone building was the office and drug store of Dr. James B. Moffett. Dr. Moffett's brother, "Professor" C. R. Moffett had his photography studio upstairs and was a partner i…

    View Full Item  in Mineral Point Historical Society
  • High Street - 148 - Monarch Billiard Hall

    "Th. Engels, 1869" is carved on one of the stones beneath the cornice of this building. Theodore Engels was born in Germany in 1819, came to the United States in 1845, and settled in MIneral Point in…

    View Full Item  in Mineral Point Historical Society
  • Commerce Street - Mineral Point Laundry

    Workers stand in front of the Mineral Point Laundry; a placard in the window advertises a "Night School" that teaches Bookkeeping. This stone building is longer extant; it was located between the Will…

    View Full Item  in Mineral Point Historical Society
  • High Street - 43 - Becker Monument Company

    The sign reads: "The Mineral Point Marble and Granite Works, B. Becker, Prop." Placards on the window advertise a Free Lecture and the Mineral Point Fair.This stone building was demolished when the Ro…

    View Full Item  in Mineral Point Historical Society
  • High Street - 128 - Vivian's Pharmacy

    This brick building was constructed in 1842 by Theodore Rodolf and sold to Dr. John Vivian in 1853, when Rodolf moved to LaCrosse, WI. Rodolf apparently first sold general merchandise but within a few…

    View Full Item  in Mineral Point Historical Society
  • High Street - 128 B

    Built in 1877, this building served as the office for Dr. John Vivan and his son, Dr. Stansmore Vivian. Their pharmacy was in the building adjacent to this, on the west.This building is included in th…

    View Full Item  in Mineral Point Historical Society
  • High Street - 257 - Reed/ Bennett Building

    From The Mineral Point Free Press, Feb 1, 1842: Joseph Reed Wholesale & Retail Dealer in Merchandise Has removed his store to the new brick building on High street, a few doors above his old stand, wh…

    View Full Item  in Mineral Point Historical Society
1234Next